This is the "RefWorks Help" page of the "RefWorks Help" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
My Library Account Book a Study Room Off Campus Access

RefWorks Help  

Last Updated: Nov 24, 2011 URL: http://kings.uwo.libguides.com/refworkshelp Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
RefWorks Help Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off Campus Access

Be sure to login to Off Campus Access before you login to RefWorks. By doing so you will be recognized as a Western Libraries user and have access to everything at home that you would have if you were in one of the libraries on campus.

 

Write-N-Cite

Write-N-Cite is a plug-in that allows you to run an abbreviated version of RefWorks during the writing process. Using Write-N-Cite, you can easily insert references into your paper as you write, and then generate the appropriate bibliography in almost any citation style at the end.

NOTE: You must download Write-N-Cite here or from within your RefWorks account.

The new version of Write-N-Cite is expected in early 2012. Watch this webinar overview of the new Write-N-Cite and its features.

Mac Users - Write-N-Cite is not currently compatible with OS Lion. Until the new version of Write-N-Cite is released, Lion users can select the One-Line/Cite view in RefWorks as a workaround. This tutorial and this video explain the process.

 

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is an online bibliographic citation manager where you can sort and store your citations. Because it is Internet-based, RefWorks is available anytime, anywhere. Western Libraries catalogue and databases send directly to RefWorks so you can save as you search. Manual entries may be made for citations with no link to RefWorks such as interviews, websites, lectures and other material not in the Western Libraries system. Group sharing is also available. A click will produce your bibliography in a citation style you choose. Don't forget to edit the finished product!

 

Create an Account

  • Login to the proxy server via Off Campus Access on the library home page if you are working from home.

  • Click on the RefWorks link on the library home page.

  • Create an account using your Western email address.

  • Do not use refworks.com as it does not recognize your status as a member of the UWO community.
 

Compatibility

Internet Explorer 9 users may find they are unable to edit the Title field when manually entering a reference. This is a known bug. There are a few ways to fix this:

  • In the top right-hand side of the URL bar, you may see a little broken page. Click on this icon and it will turn blue. You should now have full functionality in RefWorks.
  • You can also turn this on by clicking the little wheel at the very top right-hand side of your browser window and selecting Compatibility Mode.
  • You may also choose to work in another browser.
 

Importing Citations

Databases

Each database family is different with regards to importing references into RefWorks. This link includes instructions for importing from several databases.

Shared Catalogue

Instructions for importing citations from the Shared Catalogue are available here.

Summon

To import from Summon, click on your “saved items” folder at the bottom of the search and send to RefWorks when the pop-up box appears. You may send multiple records – all articles, all books or a mixture.


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip